KUCI 88.9fm

KUCI 88.9fm
Live & streaming

Sunday, July 7, 2019

7/8/19 - 9:30am pst - author Rachel Linden joined host Janeane Bernstein to talk about her new book The Enlightenment of Bees


LISTEN to today's conversation with
featured guest Rachel Linden.

THE ENLIGHTENMENT OF BEES (on sale July 9, Thomas Nelson) by Rachel Linden (author of Ascension of Larks and Becoming the Talbot Sisters). When Mia West is unceremoniously dumped by her boyfriend on their 6-year anniversary and she’s let go from a Seattle bakery due to downsizing, she feels adrift and alone. Can a humanitarian trip providing aid in India and Hungary give her new perspective and the courage to pursue her dreams? After some misfires abroad, she comes to terms with her own personal shortcomings including her self-serving savior complex (we all might feel a bit seen…and dragged), and returns to Seattle ready to take charge of her life. For fans of Jo Jo Moyes and Elin Hilderbrand, The Enlightenment of Bees is like a fictional Eat, Pray, Love for anyone unsure of whether they can start over and how.


Praise for the book:


“Mia…has a true connection with the people she is serving, all while learning more about herself…. Linden deftly combines excitement, romance, strong character development, and an empowered female protagonist. This novel is a good suggestion for Christian fiction readers, even without an overtly religious overtone.” —Booklist, starred review
“Consider this book your summer passport” – Working Mother
“A feel good book that will heighten your sense of adventure this summer.” – Bookbub
“I combed through the pages with delight. This book is going to cause a real buzz.” —Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times-bestselling author


Potential talking points:


Her personal experience working for 7+ years in global humanitarian aid based out of the UK and Hungary where she worked on assisting women in trauma and Syrian refugees in 2015 

The important lessons learned, especially in terms of giving/aid that really makes an impact and isn’t funneled into pockets or wasted on unnecessary resources (such as transporting truckloads of unusable, soaking wet clothes like sheer tops and mini-skirts to Muslim refugee camps)

How the worst wedding weekend of her life (summer is wedding season!) in Florida inspired the shark-chase scene featured in the book

How her sweet grandma Sally inspired the Nana Alice character in the book - discussing the geriatric love story of how her grandmother found love and a new lease at life at 79 years old, spending the next 10 years traveling the world with her high school drama partner turned Prince Charming

How baking grounds her in her own family history (growing up homeschooled in Ohio) and empowers her to create community around her wherever she is (even, and sometimes especially, when she’s on the other side of the world).

The writing life - her office is her 1985 Westfalia van named Max so she’s able to travel the Pacific Northwest while she writes!



About the author:


Rachel Linden is a novelist and international aid worker whose adventures in over fifty countries around the world provide excellent grist for her writing. Rachel has spent 7+ years working in global humanitarian aid based out of the UK and Hungary, where she worked on assisting women in trauma as well as Syrian refugees. Visit her online at rachellinden.com; Instagram: rachellinden_writer; Facebook: authorRachellinden.

No comments:

Post a Comment